Next Game Rd 14 Melbourne Rebels v Sunwolves

Fri, May 25. 7:30PM,
Olympic Blvd

Nine Rebels named in Aussie U20s Squad

The Melbourne Rebels have nine players named in the Australian U20s Extended Squad for the World Rugby U20s Championship in Georgia in June.

The 48-player preliminary squad, announced by the ARU on Monday, will come together at Runaway Bay on the Gold Coast this April (4-7) for their first training camp under new Head Coach Simon Cron.

Rebels contracted players Jordan Uelese, Rob Leota, Sione Tuipulotu, Jack Maddocks and Semisi Tupou have been named alongside Rebels U20s players Vaauli Faamausili, Esei Haangana, Harrison Goddard and Angelo Leaupepe.

Uelese, Leota, Tuipulotu and Maddocks return to the Australian U20s for a second consecutive year after the quartette were part of last year’s squad for the World Rugby U20s Championship in Manchester.

Australia U20s Head Coach, Simon Cron said: “This camp will be the first opportunity we have to get content across to our players, as well as skill evaluation and execution.

It will be a high intensity camp and we need to tick the box on a lot of critical stuff.

“We will be putting guys into different scenarios and seeing how they play as well as start to develop our culture and Identity as a group.

“The door is still open for players in the Super U20s Championship as we are always watching and looking for players who will suit the way we want to play the game.”

Australia will host the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship on the Gold Coast against Fiji, Samoa and New Zealand, kicking off on April 28.

The Melbourne Rebels U20s will return to action following the bye on Friday afternoon when they host NSW Gen Blue in the final round clash as a curtain raiser at AAMI Park from 4.30pm (AEDT).

With two points separating NSW in second and the Rebels U20s in third, the winner of the fixture will progress through to the Super U20s Championship Grand Final against the Queensland Reds U20s.

Tickets for the Melbourne Rebels’ first Australian derby of the year against the NSW Waratahs, and Rebels U20s curtain raiser, are available from

Australia U20s Extended Squad: 


Harry Hoopert, QLD

Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW

Cody Walker, NSW

Sham Vui, WA

Harry Chapman, NSW

Gavin Luka, QLD

Vaauli Faamausili, VIC

Angus Wagner, ACT

Jordan Uelese, Melbourne Rebels 

Phil Bradford, NSW

Efi Maafu, QLD

Tom Horton, NSW

Harry Hockings, QLD

Angus Blyth, QLD

Ryan McCauley, NSW Waratahs

Esei Haangana, VIC

Darcy Swain, ACT

Angus Scott-Young, Queensland Reds

Max Girdler, NSW

Lachlan Swinton, NSW

Reece Hewat, QLD

Rob Leota, Melbourne Rebels 

Rob Valetini, Brumbies

Liam Wright, QLD

Angus Allen, ACT

Brodie Leber, ACT


Harrison Goddard, VIC 

Harry Nucifora, QLD

Ryan Lonergan, ACT

Theo Strang, NSW

Tate McDermott, Aussie 7s

Liam McNamara, Aussie 7s

Hamish Stewart, QLD

Nick Jooste, Brumbies

Tony Hunt, QLD

Sione Tuipulotu, Melbourne Rebels 

Izaia Perese, Queensland Reds

Dylan Riley, Queensland Reds

Esere Chee Kam, NSW

Len Ikitau, ACT

Henry Hutchison, Aussie 7s

Simon Kennewell, Aussie 7s

Jayden Ngamanu, Queensland Reds

Angelo Leaupepe, VIC

Will Eadie, QLD

Jack Maddocks, Melbourne Rebels 

Clay Uyen, WA

Semisi Tupou, VIC