Four Rebels in Junior Wallabies squad

Four Melbourne Rebels rising stars have been named in the Junior Wallabies extended squad for the first National camp at the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) in Canberra this week.

Rebels young guns Trevor Hosea, Esei Ha’angana, Harrison Goddard and Semisi Tupou will head to the national capital for the four-day camp at the elite national training facility.

“Junior Wallaby squad selection is a great recognition for our four athletes and will provide Trevor, Esei, Harrison and Semisi with the opportunity to dip their toe into the national pathway,” Rebels General Manager Professional Rugby & Pathways Nick Ryan said.

“The Rebels have enjoyed strong underage national representation and we expect that to continue for the years ahead with established rugby pathways and development opportunities.”

Just two weeks after returning home to commence his professional career with the Rebels, Hosea will head off to his first Australian U20s camp alongside some experienced teammates.

Ha’angana, Goddard and Tupou all got a taste of Super Rugby for the Melbourne Rebels in 2017.

Ha’angana became the youngest Rebels debutant in the club’s history when he came off the bench against the Lions at AAMI Park en route to five appearances this season.

Goddard and Tupou both made their Super Rugby debuts in 2017 against the NSW Waratahs and Jaguares, respectively.

The National squad will assemble at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra on Wednesday December 6 until Sunday December 10 as they commence their 2018 campaign.

The re-branded Junior Wallabies outfit will have four National Camps heading into the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship on the Gold Coast in April next year, preparing for the 2018 World Rugby U20s Championship.

The Junior Wallabies have New Zealand, Wales and Japan in Pool A at the World Rugby U20s Championship.

The Junior Wallabies 2017 Extended Squad
Angus Blyth, QLD
Darcy Breen, NSW
Nick Brown, NSW
Will Dearden, QLD
Sean Farrell, QLD
George Francis, NSW
Lloyd Gorman, QLD
Ben Grant, NSW
Esei Ha’angana, VIC
Charlie  Hancock, ACT
Harry Hockings, QLD
Harry Hoopert, QLD
Trevor Hosea, VIC
Josh Kemeny, NSW
Tom Kibble, QLD
Efi Ma’afu, QLD
Sama Malolo, NSW
Hugh Margin, NSW
Fraser McReight, QLD
Tipane  Mavoa  QLD
Josh Nasser, QLD
Dylan Pietsch, AUST 7S
Tom Ross, ACT
Justin Sikimeti, ACT
Rory Sutor, NSW
Lawrence Tominiko, QLD
Rob Valetini, ACT
Pat Tafa, NSW

Ben Donaldson, NSW
Will Eadie, QLD
Tom Fuller, NSW
Harrison Goddard, VIC
Mack Hansen, ACT
Cooper Harris, NSW
Will Harrison, NSW
Tony Hunt, QLD
Len Ikitau, ACT
Yirribi Jaffer-Williams, NSW
Bayley Kuenzle, NSW
Isiah Latu, ACT
Ryan Lonergan, ACT
Isaac Lucas, QLD
Tate McDermott, QLD
Matt McTaggart, NSW
Jackson Mohi, NSW
Jordan Morris, NSW
Luke Osborne, NSW
Jordan Petaia, QLD
James Ramm, NSW
Hamish Stewart, QLD
Will Terry, NSW
Semisi Tupou, VIC
Nick Wilkinson, NSW