Haylett-Petty and Uelese head inclusions for Sunwolves test

Wallabies Dane Haylett-Petty, Sefa Naivalu, Ben Daley and Jordan Uelese are all included as the Melbourne Rebels prepare to host the Sunwolves at AAMI Park on Friday.

Haylett-Petty will start at fullback after he suffered a bulged disc in his neck against the Bulls in Pretoria a month ago. Uelese is set to return off the bench after injuring his arm in the same game.

In the forwards, Matt Philip swaps into the second row in place of Geoff Parling.

Reece Hodge will start at five-eighth, Billy Meakes in the centres and Jack Maddocks on the wing – rounding out the changes to the starting line-up from the team that beat the Brumbies a fortnight ago.

Uncapped prop, Pone Fa’amausili and flyhalf, Tayler Adams, are also in-line to earn Super Rugby debuts.

Melbourne Rebels Head Coach, Dave Wessels: “We’ve picked a side with a nice balance of youth and experience. It’s good to have Dane back in the starting XV – he’s a real leader in the group and everyone will take confidence from having him around.

“It should a great game. The Sunwolves played some fantastic attacking rugby to beat the Stormers and Reds in the last two weeks, so we know they’re arriving Melbourne full of confidence.

“Most of all, we’re excited to be returning in front of our home fans at the Stockade (AAMI Park). It’s a critical game for us, so we’re looking forward to putting on a display that Melbourne people can be proud of.”


2018 Vodafone Super Rugby, Week 15
Melbourne Rebels vs Sunwolves
Friday 25 May, 2018
AAMI Park, Melbourne
7.45pm kick off

Melbourne Rebels team vs Sunwolves on Friday 25 May, 2018 at Melbourne, Australia:

1. Fereti Sa’aga
2. Anaru Rangi
3. Sam Talakai
4. Matt Philip
5. Adam Coleman (capt.)
6. Angus Cottrell
7. Colby Fainga’a
8. Amanaki Mafi
9. Michael Ruru
10. Reece Hodge
11. Marika Koroibete
12. Billy Meakes
13. Tom English
14. Jack Maddocks
15. Dane Haylett-Petty



16. Jordan Uelese
17. Ben Daley
18. Pone Fa’amausili
19. Geoff Parling
20. Lopeti Timani
21. Harrison Goddard
22. Tayler Adams
23. Sefa Naivalu